Shrimp and Chinese Sausage Quinoa Fried “Rice”

While browsing the Fridgg website, I decided to google the term ‘quinoa’ and ran across this great idea for a fried rice dish using quinoa. There was no need to add any protein to the dish, other than the traditional fried egg, but I like to go above and beyond whenever possible.

Shrimp and Chinese Sausage Quinoa Fried “Rice” –  makes 4 cups, about 3 servings

1 tbsp unsalted butter
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1/4 cup carrot, small dice
3 large mushrooms, medium dice
1 small pepper (red, orange or yellow), small dice
2 green onions, bottoms added to the saute and tops used as garnish
1/2 cup frozen peas, thawed
3 large raw shrimp, peeled and tailed, halved and diced
1 raw Chinese sausage, halved and diced
1 large egg, slightly beaten
~ 3 cups cooked quinoa
2 tbsp Kikkoman soy sauce
shake or two ground white pepper

In a large saute pan, add the butter and oil and over medium heat, saute the carrot, pepper, onion bottoms and mushrooms until the carrots are tender. Add the peas, shrimp and sausage and fry for a couple of minutes until the shrimp are white and the peas are warmed through.

Push the veggies and meat to one side and add the beaten egg to the cleared area. Fry for a minute or two until the egg is almost completely set and then stir into the veggie and meat mixture.

Add the cooked quinoa, mix into the veggie and meat mixture and sprinkle the soy sauce and ground white pepper over the top. Stir through and taste. Add more soy sauce if needed.

4 thoughts on “Shrimp and Chinese Sausage Quinoa Fried “Rice”

  1. This looks fabulous. I recently tried cauliflower ‘rice’ but I reckon quinoa would be better in terms of taste and consistency. I love Chinese sausage too. I might try this soon.

    1. It was amazing. I saw a more elaborate ‘sauce’ for the veggies in the recipe that inspired it but I found that the soy sauce was sufficient and didn’t mask the flavours of the other ingredients.

  2. It looks yummy! I must say I haven’t warmed up to quinoa yet, but I make often fake fried rice with my beloved buckwheat (which many quinoa fans hate I’ve heard…), so I can imagine how you loved it!

    1. I don’t think I’ve ever tried buckwheat other than soba noodles. I’m relatively new to quinoa but I’ve liked the things I’ve made with it so far.

Leave a comment