Broccoli and Danish Blue Cheese Souffle

I hate wasting food, but for some reason, I seem to be discarding broccoli stems. Just one stem and a few florettes and you have a delicious addition to a plain cheese souffle. This is a variation of my basic cheese souffle recipe for two. Over the years, I’ve made it with leftover shredded salmon, spinach, sauteed mushrooms and various cheeses.

Lovely moist interior

Unlike the usual souffle recipe, in which the eggs are separated and the eggs whites are beaten until stiff and then folded into the souffle mixture, whole, beaten eggs are added in this version. The souffle won’t rise as much as the regular method, and will fall quicker, but you can make the souffles, bake one and refrigerate the second one for the next day.

If you don’t like the strong taste of blue cheese, replace the 2 oz of blue cheese with 1 oz grated Parmesan and 1 oz crumbled blue cheese. I used a generous pinch of dried thyme instead of the chives.

10 thoughts on “Broccoli and Danish Blue Cheese Souffle

  1. These soufflés look really good, love how you have been able to utilize left over ingredients. I usually throw stalks into my broth ziplock bag and into the freezer, nothing gets wasted.

  2. I hate wasting food too. And if I look at the broccoli and the stems I’m throwing away, it feels like I’m throwing half of the veggie away.So I will definitely try it! Especially that it looks to delicious!

  3. My mother made this with cauliflower but she called it “gratin” and I don’t remember cheese in it Am I confusing the recipes?

Leave a comment