Technique: No Churn Ice Cream (Cranberry Sauce)

I’ve posted this recipe/technique of making ice cream, without an ice cream maker, before. However, I thought I’d give it another look before the holidays, when an easy make-ahead dessert might be just what you want. Especially if you have some leftover cranberry sauce. You may even want to make some cranberry sauce just so you can make this.

All you need is whipping cream, sweetened condensed milk (though you CAN use sweetened cream of coconut as well), alcohol (about 1 tbsp per batch) and flavourings. And at least six hours in the freezer.

Small Batch No Churn Ice Cream – recipe makes ~ 3-4 cups of ice cream, more depending on the bulk of add-ins

3/4 cup whipping cream
1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk
1 tbsp alcohol**
1 tbsp flavouring**

** If using an extract with an alcohol base, like vanilla extract or limoncello, as I have in the past, one tablespoon of the extract is all you need.

Variations:

Fruit – fruit purees or preserve, shredded coconut, curd (lemon, lime, orange, raspberry etc), fruit liquer ie Kirsch, Cointreau/Grand Marnier
Chocolate – cocoa powder, chocolate or fudge sauce, Nutella, chocolate liquer ie Bailey’s, Bols, De Kuyper, chocolate bars
Coffee – espresso powder, coffee liqueur ie Tia Maria, Kahlua, Patron for a tequila base
Nuts and seeds – coarsely or finely chopped, peanut butter, Nutella, sesame seeds (tahini), chocolate bars
Cheesecake – softened cream cheese or mascarpone may be combined with the sweetened condensed milk for a denser ice cream

Special Category:

Seasonal favourites – pumpkin pie, egg nog, cranberry sauce

Cranberry Sauce No Churn Ice Cream Ingredients – 3/4 cups whipping cream, 1/2 cup sweetened condensed milk, 1 tbsp brandy, 1/2 cup home made cranberry sauce, plus another 1/4 cup cranberry sauce to swirl through the ice cream.

Reader Challenge:

Replicate your favourite chocolate bar (ie Thin Mints, Cadbury creme egg), cookie (ie Samoas, Oreos) or other dessert (ie tiramisu, apple pie) in ice cream form, like the Ferrero Rocher chocolates I made a while ago. Share a link to a picture on your own site.

8 thoughts on “Technique: No Churn Ice Cream (Cranberry Sauce)

    1. Puree any fruit you want … peaches, mangoes etc. I have some canned pineapple that I’d like to try one day. 🙂

      PS: I bought a jar of mincemeat so I’m thinking of making a small batch for Christmas.

      1. Sometimes I get good ideas. Not that I usually implement them. By the next day, I’ve come up with other ‘brilliant’ plans. 🙂

        But the idea of the crushed pineapple with white rum and grated coconut sounded nice and tropical as the cold winter approaches.

        And, making the smaller amounts of ice cream (3-4 cups max), which fit perfectly in my rubbermaid containers, means that I can have a bunch of different flavours stacked up in the freezer. That’s why I scaled down the ‘basic’ no churn which calls for 2 cups of whipping cream and 1 (14 oz in the US) can of sweetened condensed milk.

        Plus the fact that to make the recipe, I would have had to buy 2 cans, since, in Canada our cans are 10 oz. It was so annoying to have that partial can of sweetened condensed milk rattling around in the fridge. It would usually go bad and then I had to toss it. Wasteful.

        This way, I can make 2 different flavours by dividing the condensed milk evenly into 2 bowls and flavouring each one differently.

      2. Well whipping cream is always on sale around X-mas, and as soon as I get my turkey out of the freezer, I’m going to pick a couple of your ideas to try!! My big freezer got stolen in a break in and I haven’t replaced it yet…

Leave a comment