Spicy Sriracha Panko Turkey Cutlets

I’ve copied and pasted my LJ post here as a test. If it’s easier for bloggers who read my LJ to read it here and comment, I may continue doing duplicate posts. Thank you FrugalHausfrau for the suggestion.

* * *

One of the breasts from my last turkey was sliced into 1/4 inch cutlets and then dipped in a Sriracha based mixture for some of the spiciest oven baked cutlets/tenders I’ve ever had. They were not as crispy as if I’d deep fried them, but I traded a healthier recipe for crunchy texture.

Spicy Sriracha Panko Turkey Cutlets – serves 4

3 tbsp Sriracha sauce**
2 tbsp honey
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 1/2 tsp sesame oil, regular or toasted
1/2 tsp pressed garlic or 1/8 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1 pound boneless turkey breast, cut into 1/4 inch cutlets (tenders or fingers are also a possible serving choice)
1 1/4 – 1 1/2 cups Panko bread crumbs

** I reduced the amount of Sriracha sauce in this recipe because, even though I LIKE spicy food, I found the cutlets a bit TOO spicy to eat straight. I didn’t make a dipping sauce (ie Sweet Chili Mayo) for them, which the original recipe suggests. If you find the results not spicy enough for your taste, increase the amount of Sriracha sauce to 1/3 cup.

Pre-heat the oven to 425 deg F.

Line a large baking sheet or shallow baking pan with foil and spray with nonstick cooking or baking spray. Or, use parchment paper, in which case you don’t have to use the spray.

Combine the Sriracha sauce, honey, soy sauce, sesame oil, garlic, and ginger in a wide bowl.

Pour the Panko crumbs in a second wide, shallow bowl.

Dip the cutlets in the Sriracha sauce mixture to coat thoroughly, then press the cutlets into the Panko crumbs flipping over to cover both sides. Shake off the excess. Arrange the cutlets in a single layer on the prepared baking sheet.

Bake for 20 minutes, or until cooked through and lightly browned.

7 thoughts on “Spicy Sriracha Panko Turkey Cutlets

  1. I love this! It looks great. And it’s so much easier to comment! And your turkey looks amazing and I love how it’s crumbed and the sriracha sauce would give this great flavour xx

  2. I am so glad that you did! Although I visited your lj account, I found it difficult to comment! I did sign up but kept forgetting user/name password, etc.! Sounds dumb, I know, but I’m getting older! BTW, if you have any frustrations on using WP just email me…contact info is on my gravatar. 🙂

    1. Thank you for the offer of help and the info as to approving the first comment. I’ll keep your offer in mind if I run into problems or have more questions. As to cross-posting to WP now … I have more than 2 yrs of posts on LJ that people won’t be able to see unless they go there. I wish there was a way to copy all the posts here easily. 🙂

      1. Does LJ allow you to see the html like wordpress does? (when adding/editing a post you have the option of visual or text. The text is html.) If it does, you can copy whole pages as html then paste them into wordpress in the text section.

        Just a thought.

      2. Yes, both visual and html options are available on LJ. I write my LJ posts in visual and then I paste in html links of the pictures from the site where I upload them. I size the pictures in visual format as it’s easiest. Then, I copy and paste the completed html version into WP. That’s how I’ve done the current posts. I just don’t want to go back over hundreds of posts. 🙂

Leave a comment