Swedish Cinnamon Star Bread and Blue Cheese (Stilton) Burgers with Blue Cheese Sauce

I’ve been seeing these star breads on various blogs for ages, but they were always filled with Nutella. And, Nutella is pricey. So, I went with a cinnamon, sugar and softened butter filling instead. I used the recipe found here. The technique is quite simple but the presentation is impressive. I’m not totally happy with the dough so I’m going to keep looking for a recipe that I like better.

Technique Pictures

 
 
 

Burgers … fast, inexpensive and tasty even when you don’t grill them.

I neglected to freeze the rest of a recent extra lean ground beef purchase, because I was planning on making chili as well as the ‘pasta e fagioli’ that I posted a while ago. Of course, something came up and then I ran across the last of the Stilton blue cheese from my Christmas dinner. After a fast google search I decided to make stuffed burgers using an Emeril Lagasse recipe I found. And then I forgot to put in the essence the recipe called for so I ended up with fairly boring burgers. Though I DID add a couple of tablespoons of caramelized onions to the meat along with some salt and pepper.

The stuffed burgers called for making 4 quarter pounder patties and then pairing them up with the cheese sandwiched between. The result was 2 HUGE stuffed burgers.

 

The second pound of meat was divided into 8 patties and I made 4 much smaller stuffed burgers which just fit into a couple of pretzel buns from the city market.

 

Instead of the fancy sauce/dressing that Emeril made, I went for fast and easy … ketchup and mustard.

Amazing what you’ll do when you’re hungry and want to eat as soon as possible.

I still had some Stilton left so I made a very simple blue cheese sauce/dip with it … Stilton, whipping cream and grated Parmesan cheese.

It was great over one of the large burgers which I served with rice and a salad. And even better as a dip for onion rings.

 

And here’s a freezer clear-out meal I came up with.

Chicken drumsticks marinated in vindaloo paste/yogurt and served with a side of chickpea curry over couscous.

Dessert ended up being the last of the panna cotta with raspberry coulis and no-churn blueberry ice cream.

25 thoughts on “Swedish Cinnamon Star Bread and Blue Cheese (Stilton) Burgers with Blue Cheese Sauce

  1. The bread looks beautiful Maria, you did a wonderful job with the design. I too have been wanting to make one of these gorgeous breads but I haven’t gotten around to it. The burgers sound delicious too, we love any type of blue cheese and tucking a small bit into the burger is a wonderful surprise.

    1. Thank you. I looked at videos and pictures to make sure I got the bread right but now that I’ve done it, I can say unequivocally … it’s easy. 🙂

      Between the onion rings and the cheese dip, it was a pretty decadent meal. Better than you can get at many sports bars.

  2. The star bread is so pretty. I might have to try one now 😊 What do you think was missing from it? Did it need more flavor?

    1. I thought the yeast flavour was too pronounced and it could have been sweeter. I could remedy the latter with a drizzle of icing. And if I let it proof longer, I could reduce the yeast used to 1 tbsp.

  3. Impressive is right, that bread of yours is gorgeous. You’ve been eating well my friend, your photos have made me hungry…it is a good think it is getting close to dinner time.

  4. So many dishes… I don’t know where to start… your Swedish bread looks so beautiful! I don’t know how you have achieved such a great shape, but I’m sure your filling is much healthier and more to my taste than Nutella (I’m not a big fan).
    I have never heard of stuffed burgers, but the idea sounds both crazy and tempting… I must try it one day!

    1. Thank you. It was a lot of fun to make the bread. The cuts/turns are actually pretty simple (see the pics above) and the results are striking. Cheese on top of burgers is delicious but messy, so putting it inside seems obvious. 🙂

  5. You are really a cooking inspiration to me. I like how much care and patience you put into the food to make it truly a work of art. Amazing work and everything looks INCREDIBLE.

    1. What a generous compliment. Makes me want to make something fun this weekend.

      I’ve been working like a fiend lately and am too tired to do much more than cook a basic meal when I get home. Today, I picked up Little Caesar’s pizza on the way home … the first time I’ve bought pizza in several years. It was not as good as mine, of course, but it was filling. 🙂

  6. I think I’ve been remiss in not commenting on this post! I am so wowed by that star bread! Everything else looks wonderful, too, but that bread is so amazing and absolutely new to me!

    I have to wonder if you’re a geometry teacher!

    1. Thank you but I have to credit the many people who posted pictures and videos which I copied to produce that great looking bread. The dry-ish filling of sugar, cinnamon and butter gave it a neat look after cutting and shaping. Even after baking, the dough retained its shape.

      There’s a slightly different cutting variation that I want to try too. Just because. 🙂

      There are so many creative things people have done with dough.

Leave a Reply

