Basic Curd: Blood Orange Curd

You can make a curd using various fruits and berries, as long as you remember to still use 1/3-1/4 of the lemon juice in the basic lemon curd recipe. In the ‘sort of’ Meyer lemon curd I used a combination of lemon and orange juice, and equal amounts of zest, for a tasty substitute for REAL Meyer lemon juice using this principle.

I used 2 tbsp of lemon juice and enough blood orange juice to make up 1/2 cup juice in total when making this blood orange curd. And 2 tbsp of blood orange zest. It tasted delicious, but, unfortunately, the resulting curd lost the vibrant red colour of the juice when mixed with the yolks and cooked.

9 thoughts on “Basic Curd: Blood Orange Curd

  1. I love curd – nothing like lemon curd on toast for breakfast but have never actually made it. Will have to add this to my ever growing food bucket list!

      1. I am sure I do and I am looking for something new to try for the growing edge link up I try (often unsuccesfully) to participate in each month!

      2. I’ve made lemon, mixed citrus (lemon, lime and orange) and now the blood orange curd and liked every one. I don’t like curd on toast but it’s great in crepes, trifle, baked wonton cups and as a base for a lemon/limoncello tiramisu. Nothing like having a jar in your fridge for inspiration.

  2. I want some of this swirled through some yoghurt for breakfast. Or just on a spoon – that would work too. šŸ™‚

  3. I do love the colour of blood oranges. What a pity the yolks stole the colour when combined. Regardless of the colour, I’m sure the curd tastes wonderful xx

Leave a comment