Homemade Hamburger Buns

ETA (07/28/2017): An earlier post of the hamburger bun recipe was found at “She Makes and Bakes”.

You can never have enough hamburger bun recipes … or maybe that’s just me. 🙂

I saw a picture of these big, fluffy beauties posted on a FB Bread Baking group recently and the next day I made a batch.

The obligatory “crumb” shot

Unfortunately, I can’t let you taste them. Buttery and just a bit sweet even though only a modest amount of butter and sugar are used.

There’s nothing really NEW about the recipe. It’s the technique that makes them stand out. After the dough is bulk proofed and shaped into balls (about 105-110 gm each) they’re allowed to rest for 10 minutes. Then, a rolling pin is gently run over the top of each rounding sphere to flatten it a bit.

They’re transferred to a prepared baking sheet and covered, with an oiled sheet of food wrap or with a dry towel, in my case. Let them continue to proof for 40 minutes.

It was warm in my kitchen (78 deg F) so after only 30 minutes, I uncovered the buns and brushed them with an egg wash and sprinkled some sesame seeds over the top. The buns went into a moderate (360 deg F) oven though the recipe I found on line at “Your Homebased Mom” uses a hot (400 deg F) oven. It doesn’t matter, you just bake them for a shorter time, if using the hotter oven.

15 thoughts on “Homemade Hamburger Buns

    1. Thank you very much for that very generous comment. I always appreciate pats on the back but I don’t want to give myself too much of the credit.

      The various techniques in (yeast) bread baking – proofing and shaping buns, loaves and other creations and baking temps – take some practice but after that, it’s pretty standard. I don’t know that there is anyone who can’t bake decent bread if they’re willing to put in some time and effort. You don’t even need any fancy equipment or electronics.

      I’m always happy to share a new technique when I run across it. It’s fun and the results usually taste good though aesthetics take some work, sometimes. You notice I’m not mentioning sourdough baking which is fussier than the amateur baker should start with. 🙂

      1. Spring and fall are the best times … the temp is warm enough in your kitchen for the bread to rise and not too hot so that having the oven on makes you sweat profusely. In winter, you can always proof in the oven with just the oven light on. Summer … well, it depends on if you have A/C. 🙂

  1. Sounds straight forward enough – interesting that you flatten them a bit – I guess to keep them from being too rounded like a dinner roll? Any way, they look gorg and the crumb is just perfect. I’m a sucker for any home-made bread but can just about leave any store bought alone…

    1. I’ve made hamburger buns before and they really round up so you have to manage that. I don’t eat bread that often but fresh bread and buns … SO good. 🙂

Leave a comment