Hokkaido-Style Corn, Chicken and Milk Miso Soup

A recent purchase of a bundle of kale and a sparse pantry led to some net surfing where I ran across a recipe for this hearty version of miso soup.

It’s similar to a corn chowder, which can be kept vegetarian with tofu as the protein instead of the chicken the recipe called for. I included both as I had some diced tofu in my freezer, as well as what turned out to be 6 oz of diced chicken breast. The recipe called for cabbage as the vegetable. Funnily enough, kale is considered a member of the cabbage family. (I did NOT know that.)

Hokkaido-style Corn, Chicken, Milk and Miso Soup – serves 5

4 cups of water and 1 vegetable stock cube (or 2 tsp dashi powder)
1 cup milk (or soy milk)
1 cup white cabbage, finely shredded (or kale)
1 green onion, white only, finely sliced
1 cup of fresh, canned or frozen corn
1 tbsp butter, vegetable or sesame oil
6 oz (~ 200g) chicken breast or leftover cold chicken, cut into pieces (or firm tofu, TVP or quorn)
1 tbsp dried seaweed, soaked in 1/4 cup warm water, drained and julienned
~1/2 cup of white miso** (adjust for taste)
salt and pepper (white or black) to taste
green onion tops, sliced thinly, for garnish

** All I had was red miso paste so that’s what I used

Heat up the water in a pot and dissolve the vegetable stock cube or the dashi powder in it.

Prepare the veggies while the water comes to a boil.

Saute the cabbage and onion in a large saute pan with the butter or oil until it’s just turning limp. Add  the chicken cubes if added raw and brown briefly. Add the corn and briefly saute at the same time.

Add the soup stock to the saute pan and simmer until the chicken is just tender.

Place the miso paste in a small bowl and add about 1/2 a cup of hot stock. Mash up the miso as much as possible. Add an additional 1/2 cup of stock and stir until the miso paste is dissolved.

Add the milk to the saute pan, and bring up to a simmer. (Add the cut up chicken if using leftover chicken and heat through.)

Add the dissolved miso and drained seaweed to the soup. Taste and adjust seasonings.

Garnish with green onion tops and serve.

6 thoughts on “Hokkaido-Style Corn, Chicken and Milk Miso Soup

  1. That looks great Maria, I’m totally in soup mode these days. I love miso soup so I know I’ll love this one too! I did not know about kale being a part of the cabbage family, although it makes sense because the ornamental kale does look like cabbage! To be honest, I would use kale instead of cabbage too, because I prefer the taste and texture to cabbage.
    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and I wish you all the best for 2017. XOXO

  2. I hope you have spent nice Christmas day(s) and had lots of delicious food (whether we celebrate Christmas or not, I find it always such a good excuse to eat something special….). This is a very unusual soup! I have never mixed chicken stock with miso… and never cooked kale either!
    Anyway, I wish you a very happy new year!

    1. Thank you. I had a nice Christmas day … ate the roast duck I made. 🙂

      It’s actually made with a vegetable stock or, in my case, dashi powder. Sauteed kale is delicious and I’ve used it in soup with Italian sausages before in recipes I’ve posted.

      Have a great new year.

Leave a Reply

