Picspam: Frozen Perogies and Fresh Strawberry Margarita

Making perogies from scratch isn’t as challenging as you’d think.

I’ve made them … once.

And they were delicious.

But sometimes you just don’t have the time or energy to make them so you buy a bag of the frozen ones, especially when they’re on sale.

The default way to serve perogies is boiled, sauteed in butter/olive oil until golden brown

… and then topped with sauteed onions, crispy bacon and sour cream. A sprinkling of thinly sliced green onion for colour (and so you can pretend there’s something fresh and healthy on your plate).

But, you may want to switch things up every once in a while.

Home made or canned chili is a great topping.

Or bolognese. Or a duck ragu. How do you serve YOUR perogies?

And, because my strawberries were getting past the peak of their freshness … I pureed the remainder and made a fresh strawberry margarita. (If my blender was able to grind up ice, I’d have the slushy version of this delicious drink which I first had at the Regal Constellation in Toronto at a Toronto Trek convention.)

Coincidentally, it’s a nice Cinco de Mayo drink if you want something sweet.

Fresh Strawberry Margarita – serves 1

125-150 gm fresh strawberries, washed and hulled
1/4 cup tequila
2 tbsp Cointreau, Triple Sec or Grand Marnier
2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp fresh lime juice

Garnish
fresh strawberry and/or lime wedge
coarse salt for rimming glass
coarse sugar for rimming glass

Run a lime wedge around the rim of a tall glass, or a champagne coupe glass. Dip the glass into a shallow bowl with coarse salt (or sugar), to create a decorative rim. Set aside the glass.

Add all of the above ingredients, excepting the garnishes, to a blender and puree. Taste and add more lime juice or honey, to taste. Strain through a coarse strainer to make sure any chunks are gone.

Add a few ice cubes to a shaker, pour the margarita over the top, shake for a minute or two and then strain into the salt rimmed glass. Garnish with a fresh strawberry that you’ve cut a slit into from the base, and/or a lime wedge.

13 thoughts on “Picspam: Frozen Perogies and Fresh Strawberry Margarita

  1. I wouldn’t mind a margarita right about now, especially one made with fresh strawberries! I’ve only ever served up pierogies by dicing up some bacon & onion and sauteeing them in the drippings, then serving with sour cream. I can see I need to get more inventive!

    1. Right now I’m out of strawberries but a shot of tequila might just hit the spot. It’s been a long day. 🙂

      Perfection can’t be exceeded but you can get pretty close with some of the alternative toppings.

    1. 😉 I also buy fresh gnocchi and udon noodles. Some things just aren’t worth the time spent making from scratch. Like wonton or egg roll wrappers. I DO like making pasta from scratch every once in a while.

      OK … I’m usually a Grand Marnier woman but I had to economize the last time I ran out and bought both the Cointreau and a small bottle of vodka for the price I usually pay for a bottle of the Grand Marnier.

      1. Black Sambuca or Cointreau for me.
        I keep telling my husband that as soon as he gets me pelmeni-maker from the Russian store, I’ll make them from scratch. Same for perogie, “kreplach” with sour cherries, etc. Still waiting.

      2. LOL … love the fact you’re putting it on ‘him’. 🙂

        Not a fan of black licorice … so no fennel nor Sambuca for me.

  2. Haha! My mum would never buy pierogi: she never trusted the ingredients of the filling (especially the one with meat). She would always make about 50 big pierogi and then freeze them so that it took lots of time but was enough for many meals.
    Your strawberry margarita makes me thirsty! I’ve recently bought first edible strawberries of this year… I should have saved some for a margarita!

Leave a comment