Sourdough Starter Green Onion/Scallion Pancake

ETA: Compare these to the ‘classic’ green onion/scallion pancakes here.

As a resource, YouTube is amazing. (And a huge way to fritter away a lot of free time … but that’s something we each have to deal with in our own way.)

Recently, I ran across an intriguingly titled video, “Never Ever Throw Away Your Sourdough Starter!” on Brothers Green Eats‘ channel and followed it to find one of the easiest SD recipes I’ve ever tried. And, it’s pretty tasty too.

Green Onion/Scallion Sourdough Pancake

 

Dipping Sauce for the Pancake – I use this same sauce for my pot stickers.

Dipping Sauce

1 teaspoon Asian chili sauce, Sriracha or sambal oelek**
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 teaspoon sesame oil (reduced to 1/2 tsp)
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon rice wine vinegar

** What I used

Mix together until sugar dissolves. Sprinkle some sliced green onions and/sesame seeds on top just to make it look pretty. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Sourdough Starter Green Onion/Scallion Pancake

  1. Asian savoury pancakes are one of my favourite things and it’s so clever to make them with your sourdough starter. Indeed, we have used YouTube to hack many-a-things that we may not have attempted had we not seen how easy it is.

  2. Mmm! I really like these. What a great idea to use sourdough starter. I grew up eating these since there’s a Taiwanese classic, but my mom/grandma have never made them from scratch – we’ve only ever had the pre-made frozen ones from T&T!

    1. I’ve made the other version (link to that post at the top of the page) but when I saw the YouTube video I thought I’d give it a try. I’m growing a couple of green onion plants hydroponically on my windowsill and wanted to use up the fresh leaves … so that was also part of my motivation.

Leave a comment